Vegetarian Hot Dogs: Gross or OK

Veggie hot dogs almost made me quit being a vegetarian today.  They. are. gross.

I bought Lightlife Smart Dogs from Trader Joe’s a while ago, after hearing some pretty good reviews.  Kind of ignored them for a while, until my mom tried one and wasn’t appalled – that was my sign to go right ahead and try ’em.  (So my mom is somewhat of my guinea pig here, doesn’t mean I love her any less.) 

So I brought one of the veggie protein links with me to work today.  Popped it in the microwave, put it in a bun, topped it with chopped onions, tomatoes, ketchup, and mustard.  First bite – not so bad.  I initially took in the taste of the condiments and the onions, but then I got to the dog.  It was so disgusting.  The texture was that of a piece of gum that you chew on for too long, then realize it’s disintegrating in your mouth.  The initial taste is that of rubber bands.  The aftertaste made me want to vomit. 

Surprisingly, I got through more than half the hot dog due to the condiments and will power.  Maybe it was bad because I microwaved it, but it’s still no excuse for that horrible flavor.  I’d rather find out that there are no options for vegetarian hot dogs than be duped with this.  If I ever do try these again, I will definitely grill them so hopefully they are crunchy enough to forget the flavor.  If the texture isn’t as gross, I could see myself maybe eating them.

So I’m searching for edible vegetarian hot dogs again.  Not actively, but if I ever do want hot dogs in the future, I need to find one that actually tastes like something instead of gum.

Now if I could find this with a good tasting dog, I’d be willing to commit.

2 Comments to “Vegetarian Hot Dogs: Gross or OK”

  1. I actually kind of like veggie hot dogs! I used to love hot dogs when I was little, but I haven’t had any in over a decade, so when I tried a veggie dog a couple of years ago it tasted like what I remember hot dogs tasting like. Maybe that brand isn’t any good? If I try veggie dogs again and find a good brand I’ll let you know!

  2. I mentioned this brand to a friend and she said that there are much better brands. Still, I may hold out hope for grilling the “SmartDog” and see where that takes me. Then we can exchange notes, ha! =)

Leave a Reply

