Breakfast of Champions, Lunch of Bad Salad Dressing

I went on a grocery binge yesterday and bought a ton of fruits, veggies, and breads.  So today, I decided it would be good to prepare an energy-boosting breakfast from some of my new groceries.

  • Chobani Greek Yogurt, Vanilla No-Fat
  • Flax Seed Meal
  • Special K Cinnamon Pecan Cereal
  • Multigrain Toast
  • Apple Butter

Now I don’t know specific measurements or anything.  I just took a dollop of the greek yogurt, mixed it in with flaxseed meal, and topped it off with a bit of the cereal.  All three elements mixed together taste super great, like a nice breakfast parfait. 

Then I topped my toast with some apple butter, but I let me tell you about this toast.  Since it is too big to fit in the toaster, I toast one end, then the other.  Of course my sleepy self put the same end in twice, so I had one end that was burnt and another that was completely soft…and I didn’t even notice until I started eating it.  Fail.

Other than that, apple butter and toast is usually one of my favorite breakfast dishes.  And accompanied by the protein and fiber in the yogurt/flaxseed/cereal mix, it was a pretty balanced breakfast.

Hopefully I can put up some pictures soon.  I have a ton, but can’t find the cord for my camera.  😦

As for lunch, well it was not so balanced. 

  • Salad with romaine, spinach, carrots, broccoli, feta, & fat-free ranch dressing
  • Arroz con Gandules

The salad was really good at first, until I put the dressing on.  Maybe I’m just not into ranch dressing anymore?  That may be a good thing.  I ate all of the carrots and a lot of the greens, but then I also realized something huge: I hate raw broccoli.  I don’t know if it was this particular batch, but it tasted like grass and cotton together and I almost spit it out. 

Onto the arroz con gandules, or rice with pigeon peas.  Don’t worry, the peas aren’t actually from pigeons, but they are green and resemble what you think might be pigeon doody.  My mom makes this dish at least once a week, and I am obsessed with it currently.  It is packed with pureed vegetables, seasonings, rice, and beans.  The way that my mom cooks it makes it taste like butter in your mouth.  I had a ton of it last night and had a decent sized container of it today for lunch; I finished the whole freakin’ thing.  Almost swallowed it whole. 

I shall post that recipe soon, once I get the specific ingredients from my mama.

– JQ

2 Comments to “Breakfast of Champions, Lunch of Bad Salad Dressing”

  1. I think that salad dressing can be a hidden calories monster! Sometimes a small amount (and I mean v. small ) of oil and vinegar is best.

    • That is very true; the salad dressing was the taste killer as well as a calorie monster. But I still do like a little something on my salads, even if it’s a very light dressing, just a little something to add a bit of flavor.

      Thanks for your comment! Very appreciated 🙂

Leave a Reply

