4th of July: Mosquito Attack Day

I am still recouping from a crazy 4th of July weekend.  My biggest worry was that since this is the season of grilling meat, I would easily give into meat temptation.  Luckily, that did not happen.  Here was my basic menu for the holiday:

– Tortilla chips w/ salsa and spinach dip.  One of my friends made this great salsa dip with cream cheese, so while not vegan (and I will never be vegan, honestly), it was delicious – and I scarfed about half of it.  The spinach dip was store-bought and also good; it paired nicely with my UV Blue and Sprite Zero.

– Broccoli Casserole.  I made a sort of spicy version with broccoli cheese instant rice, velveeta, salsa, shredded cheddar cheese, and frozen broccoli.  It came out super great!  Not a reheatable kinda dish, though, so I need to remember to make enough only for people who actually like broccoli.

– A classic burger without the meat patty.  I had a wonderful bun, with a giant slice of tomato and onion, ketchup, mustard, and cheese.  I used to just have cheese and ketchup on my burgers before.  Now that I’ve gotten rid of the meat, I actually crave the veggies that go on burgers.

– July 4th cupcakes, taffy grapes, and pie.  Lots of desserts the rest of the night, making it the perfect July 4th meal.

Didn’t miss meat at all!  Of course I probably should have tried to include healthier things in the day, but I feel like holidays should include whatever you want to eat…and I didn’t really feel like salad.  July 4th is a burger and beer day, so that’s most of what I had.

Posting pictures later!

– JQ

“Vegetarian:  A person who eats only side dishes. ”
– Gerald Lieberman

Leave a Reply

