How to Stop Eating Meat (& Maybe Become a Vegetarian)

Okay, so I have not eaten meat for about a week or so, and let me explain – I never meant to actually become a vegetarian.  I just wanted to see if I could really live without eating meat for a while.  The more and more that I thought about how I would simply avoid meat, the more I realized that a vegetarian lifestyle meant a somewhat healthier lifestyle – at least compared to my previous diet of cheeseburgers and bacon.

After a few days of going meatless, I decided that I can do this for a while, if not to be healthier, at least it could be a fun experiment.  I have to admit that I hate most vegetables and gorge on french fries and cheese, so this blog is to keep everything on track, and hopefully generate new creative meatless meal ideas.

If you’re wondering how a meat lover can eventually give up her muse, here are the main steps I took in starting my meatless lifestyle.

– Vegetable soups – My mom makes an awesome soup with pureed peppers, tomatoes, onions, adobo seasoning, sazon, and rice.  I never even realized it was vegetarian and super healthy.  It tastes like heaven.

– McDonald’s cheeseburgers…without the burger – McDonald’s isn’t really known for the quality of meat they put in their burgers anyway, so any kind of flavor that I liked comes from the bun, cheese, onions, and ketchup.  A good friend suggested this option, and it is pretty tasty.

– Morningstar products – They’re awesome.  I love the variety of veggie burgers they have created over the past few years.  I would eat their veggie burgers every now and then before, so I have no problem eating them now.

– Jimmy Johns Vegetarian sandwich – Since I am also an admitted veggie-phobe, I get the sandwich without the avocado spread, cucumbers, and sprouts.  I do actually like avocados but they just taste weird on the sandwich to me, same with the cucumbers.  Sprouts look like sperm to me. 

The above foods really helped me to realize that I could go vegetarian, even if I am not crazy about vegetables just yet.  The more meatless options I explore, the more I will post right here for picky eaters who want to go meatless…or anyone for that matter.

– JQ

All normal people love meat.  If I went to a barbeque and there was no meat, I would say, “Yo Goober!  Where’s the meat?”  I’m trying to impress people here, Lisa.  You don’t win friends with salad.  – Homer Simpson

Leave a Reply

